Adele Arbi
1 min readJan 1, 2024

--

This is the best advice. I couldn't agree more. We need to focus on the goal we have and build that skill only at the beginning.

I have been taking courses for a year and a half and cannot count the number of Arabic teachers insisting on teaching me handwriting because it's on the programme.

For many years I barely write by hand in my own language, and I don't see any use of that skill in Arabic anytime soon. I don't need speaking either because I have no Arab friends, and no plans to travel to an Arab country. So, I have dropped working on these skills completely.

My only goal is to read and understand the Quran in the original, so reading comprehension is my only priority, plus listening helps with it.

I felt a huge weight lift off my shoulders, when I started focusing on this. And I saw the biggest progress in reading skills when I started ignoring the teachers who wanted me to learn how to order in an Arab restaurant, just because that's what a book made for tourists says.

--

--

Adele Arbi

A curious soul exploring and documenting life. London-based Tech Expat | Muslim | Polyglot | Bibliophile | Explorer