How a TV Sitcom Convinced the World That Being a Loser Without Integrity Is Cool

And how it shaped Western society

Adele Arbi
4 min readJul 4, 2023
Photo by Ben Griffiths on Unsplash

I recently finished watching Friends, the American sitcom, for the first time in my life.

Considering that the show aired for the first time in 1994, it took me quite a long time.

I liked the comedy, but I hated the message of this show. They say it’s about life in our twenties and how friends become our family during those years. And they say the 6 characters are the ideal friend group and their personalities have something relatable for everyone. And I strongly disagree.

I saw them as this group of losers without integrity.

Let’s start with the second part, integrity because that is a thousand times more important than success.

The characters of Friends have no integrity.

All the members of this friend group have some very problematic personality traits. They lack a lot of basic values for being decent human beings. And they actually embody many anti-values.

Here are some of their anti-values:

  • They lie regularly and don’t feel guilty about it.
  • They cheat and betray their relationships and…

--

--

Adele Arbi

A curious soul exploring and documenting life. London-based Tech Expat | Muslim | Polyglot | Bibliophile | Explorer